It’s our 30th Anniversary, so come and celebrate with us on Saturday 22nd August 2020!

KH30Yr logo 250x209

The Course

The planned course was modified and shortened due to the predicted high winds and poor visibility. The 42km Hoppet course (shortened to 30km) comprised two 15km loops of Sun Valley-Watchbed Creek-Langfords Gap-Pauls Track loop. The 21km Birkebeiner course (shortened to15km) was one loop of the above. The Joey 7km course comprised one loop of Sun Valley.


Weather & Snow Conditions

Heavy snowfalls in the two days leading up to the event, together with high winds and poor visibility on the Friday (set-up day), presented challenges for volunteers and for the groomers in trying to keep the course open. Early on Friday the decision was made to abandon the high course over Heathy Spur due to the forecast of high winds and poor visibility for the Saturday. Fortunately the winds abated somewhat on the Saturday but the poor visibility and snowy conditions were still present. It was considered safe enough to cross the Dam Wall so a 15km (low level) loop  was used.




• Night Sprints: Men - Alex Legkov RUS   —  Women - Esther Bottomley AUS

• Esther Bottomley placed third in the Hoppet, following back-to-back wins in 2010 & 2011. 

• Alex Almoukov is again first Australian home (5th overall) repeating his 2011 success.

• Four times Hoppet winner Ben Derrick places 3rd Australian (8th overall). A fine effort.

Technical Delegate (TD)

Rob Barrow (AUS)


Assistant TD

Peter Ward (AUS)


Winners & Best Australian



Best Australian






Kangaroo Hoppet

Alex Legkov RUS

Maria Graefnings SWE

Alex Almoukov 5th AUS

Esther Bottomley 3rd AUS


Paul Kovacs AUS

Anna Trnka AUS

Paul Kovacs AUS

Anna Trnka AUS

Joey Hoppet

Hamish Roberts AUS

Jill Colebourn AUS

Hamish Roberts AUS

Jill Colebourn AUS


AGL Logo Vertical 

FallsCreek logo Blue stacked 


Alpine Shire Logo



32Gi4 BB Logo Fischer bnsc

Get in Touch!

Send an email or give us a call:


T: +61 (0)3 5754 1045


Kangaroo Hoppet

P.O. Box 400
(33 Kiewa Valley Hwy)
Mount Beauty 3699
Victoria, Australia