FallsCreek logo Blue stacked


AGL Logo Vertical 

Alpine Shire Logo



Worldloppet Logo Slogan Blue II copy

The Course

(Moved to the Summit Area of Falls Creek). This was a very poor snow season with no snow in the Nordic Bowl, on Heathy Spur or on the trail around the Lake. The High Altitude Course on Frying Pan Spur and around Mt McKay was used for the third time – it was used previously in 1993 and 1998. Kangaroo Hoppet entrants skied two loops of a 14km course while the Birkebeiner skiers did one loop. Joey Hoppet skiers skied the Mt McKay loop of 5.5km.

Weather & Snow Conditions

Set-up day on Friday was tough with wind, snow and poor visibility. Race day was perfect - sunny and no wind. Snow cover was very light in most areas. There was no snow in the Nordic Bowl, Heathy Spur or Lake area.




Ben Sim (AUS) wins back-to-back Hoppets.

Technical Delegate (TD)

Rae Moore (Vic)

Assistant TD

Paul L'Huillier (Vic)


Winners & best placed Australians



Best Australian






Kangaroo Hoppet

Ben Sim (AUS)

Natascia Leonardi-Cortesi (SUI)

Ben Sim (1st)

Katie Calder (2nd)


Neil van der Ploeg (AUS)

Alexa Truzian (USA)

Neil van der Ploeg (1st)

Aimee Watson (2nd)

Joey Hoppet

Mark Hogg (NZE)

d'Arcy Baxter (AUS)

Adrian Jago (3rd)

d'Arcy Baxter (1st)