Press Release 12/08/2021: The Kangaroo Hoppet Planning Committee met earlier this week and made the decision not to proceed with the on snow event this year. Read More>



30 years blue Hoppet logo

The Course

Two and half weeks of warm and windy weather leading up to the event turned a great cover of snow into a nightmare course-setting exercise. The Lake loop was abandoned one week before the event with efforts being directed onto the Fitzgeralds Hut, Edmondsons Hut and Heathy Spur Loop. Until the eve of the event organisers intended to have a 21km loop going to Fitzgeralds Hut but late thunderstorms together with continuing snow loss made this impossible. A 14km loop to be skied three times for Kangaroo Hoppet and once for the Birkebeiner, excluding Fitzgerald's Hut, was decided upon. No snow on the Dam Wall meant the Kangaroo Hoppet and Birkebeiner started on the far side of the Wall. Skiers returned via the steep descent and ascent below the Wall. The Joey started in the Nordic Bowl and went to Sun Valley for the first time.

Weather & Snow Conditions

Windy early, but sunny. The snow was wet, soft and slow, due to heavy overnight rain.




The Hoppet Presentations were held in the new Mt Beauty Sports Stadium for the first time. In previous years they had been conducted in the Mount Beauty Country Club (previously called the Mt Beauty Workmens Club). Approximately 500 people attended. Night team-sprint winners: Men – Staffan Larson and Elbert Karlsson (SWE) and Women – Maria Theurl (AUT) and Sandra Paul (AUS). The Minister's Encouragement Awards were again given to the first Australian under 14 boy and girl in the Joey Hoppet, and to the first Australian under 18 boy and girl in the Australian Birkebeiner. Andre Jungen (SUI) wins the Hoppet at his third attempt. In his previous two he placed second.

Technical Delegate (TD)

Tony Daffern (CAN)

Assistant TD

Brian Keeble (AUS-Vic)


Winners & Best Australian



Best Australian






Kangaroo Hoppet

Andre Jungen (SUI)

Maria Theurl (AUT)

Anthony Evans (5th)

Kerryn Rim (3rd)


Sean Donohue (AUS)

Jenny Griffiths (AUS)

Sean Donohue (1st)

Jenny Griffiths (1st)

Joey Hoppet

Andrew Slocombe (NZ)

Jessica Hart (AUS)

Paul Murray (2nd)

Jessica Hart (1st)

AGL Logo Vertical 

FallsCreek logo Blue stacked 


Alpine Shire Logo


 new white community bank logo

elude modern


Get in Touch!

Send an email or give us a call:


T: +61 (0)3 5754 1045


Kangaroo Hoppet

P.O. Box 400
(33 Kiewa Valley Hwy)
Mount Beauty 3699
Victoria, Australia